Alumni Center showcase: 1950s
Visit bradley.edu/go/ht-record to listen to school songs from the ’50s.
The 1950s was a decade of expansion for Bradley, as shown in the 1950s decade case in the Hayden-Clark Alumni Center. A timeline shows the dedications of Bradley’s new library in 1950, Jobst Hall in 1955, a women’s dormitory in 1956, the Student Center in 1957, and Lovelace Hall (now Baker Hall) in 1959. Enrollment in 1950–51 was 3,115 undergraduates and 169 graduate students; it rose to 4,203 undergraduates and 347 grad students by 1959. Pictures depict a busy campus: students dancing, studying at the library, and walking to class. Winchip House, which allowed home economics majors an opportunity to put the skills they learned to use, closed in 1959. Dr. Philip Baker taught a noncredit course which instructed students in the fundamentals of making and repairing test tubes used in chemistry class. Lawrence Fogelberg, father of singer Dan Fogelberg, directed the University Band throughout the ’50s. Recordings of school songs by the band and an a cappella choir directed by Howard Kellogg Jr. and CARDON BURNHAM ’49 bring past school traditions to life.
— Abby Wilson Pfeiffer ’10