The Academy of American Poets Prize

The Academy of American Poets Prize recognizes the best single poem written by a Bradley University student. Administered by the Academy of American Poets in New York at nearly two hundred colleges and universities throughout the United States, the prize has been awarded to some of our country's finest poets during their collegiate years. In fact, many well-known poets won their first recognition through the Academy College Prize, including Toi Derricotte, Mark Doty, Alice Fulton, Li-Young Lee, Sylvia Plath, Mark Strand, and Charles Wright. The prizewinner receives a $100 award from the Academy, and finalists receive certificates of award presented by the English Department.


 ***Submissions Open***


  1. Each poet may submit one poem. No translations.
  2. A poem in any form or style (fixed, free or prose) is acceptable.
  3. The poet's name, address, email address and phone number(s) should NOT appear on the poem submitted, but should be included on the entry form below. Be sure to include the hours at which you can be reached easily by phone.
  4. Submit the poem and entry form to the Department of English, Bradley Hall 380. The DEADLINE for submission is 3 p.m. Tuesday, March 7, 2017. Poems received after the deadline will not be eligible for the competition.
  5. A winning poem will be chosen. The winning poet will receive a prize of $100. Those granted honorable mention will receive certificates of award.
  6. Only Bradley undergraduate and graduate students are eligible.
  7. No poem submitted to the competition may be revised while under consideration.
  8. No entries will be returned.
  9. All entrants must verify their authorship of submitted poems and grant the English Department permission to post their winning poems online in text and/or audio format.
  10. Submisstions that do not follow these guidelines will be disqualified.

The ENTRY FORM can be printed by clicking HERE