2011-2015 Academy of American Poets Prize Winners

Some poems may contain explicit language.


  • Winner: Kaydra Bui - "(dis)quiet" 
  • Honorable Mention: Bryan Banuelos, Margaret Cipriano, Sarah McMahon, Katie Sainz, Mei Tsoi


  • Co-Winner: Margaret Cipriano - "Language Affair" 
  • Co-Winner: Jaclyn Weber - "Rough Draft of My Mind" 
  • Honorable Mention: Kaydra Bui, Christian Lyon, Nichole Pientka, Mei-yan Tsoi

14 Academy Winners


  • Co-Winner: Kelsey Seeber - "When Mourning Another's Death, We Fear Our Own" 
  • Co-Winner: Jaclyn Weber - "The Walking Dead" 
  • Honorable Mention: Stuart Boyd, Maggie Cipriano, Brittany Johnson, Christian Lyon, Chris Poore, Jesse Wesso


  • Andrew Benson - "Walking to the Gas Station at Some Darkened Hour in Late October" 
  • Honorable Mention: Christine Beuhler, Ben Elkind, Morgan Liphart, Laurel Merz, Kelsey Seeber


  • Samantha Parker - "Under Ten Blankets"
  • Honorable Mention: Tyler Emken, Grant Schubert, Kelsey Seeber, Adam Sondag, Marybeth Southard, Landen Zuwalt