English Honors Society

Sigma Tau Delta

2014-2015 Officers


STD Awards

  • Emily Daniel, Norton Anthology Student Recitation Contest
  • Margaret Cipriano, E. Nelson James Junior Scholarship
  • Kara Salmon, Sommerville Award for New Teachers
  • Dr. Danielle Glassmeyer, 2013-2014 Outstanding Regional Sponsor Award


  • Orientation and Open House for New Majors 
  • 5th Annual Student/Faculty Pizza Party 
  • Scholarship Information Meeting 
  • National Day on Writing 
  • Book Club  
  • Book Sale & Young Readers Book Drive
  • Recitation Party
  • T-Shirt Design Contest
  • Cookies & Cocoa
  • Spring Smith Career Center Presentation
  • Initiation Ceremony


  1. To confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies.
  2. To promote interest in literature and the English language on local campuses and their surrounding communities.
  3. To foster the discipline of English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing.


  • Minimum of a B or equivalent average in English
  • Rank in the highest 35% of one's class in general scholarship
  • Completion of at least 3 semesters of 5 quarters of college work


  • One-time international initiation fee


  • Members receive Sigma Tau Delta's national electronic newsletter while they remain active in their local chapter
  • Members have opportunity to contribute to the award-winning literary publications, The Rectangle and The Review
  • Members are eligible to compete for scholarships with values up to $5,000
  • Local chapters sponsor programs such as career nights, cook-outs and book drives

Previous Officers


  • President: Emily Daniel
  • Co-Vice President: Lexi Lewandowski and Liz Cachey
  • Secretary: Monica Gehn-Scheer
  • Archivist: Emily Daniel
  • Social Chair: Sarah Mcmahon
  • Historian: Sarah Marshall


  • President: Jolie Boerma
  • Vice President: Katie Sterr
  • Co-Secretary: Brianna Smith and Carla Dinnocenzo
  • Social Chair: Emily Laidley

To view more previous officers, click HERE.