2012 Accelerated BSN June Snow Awards

2012 Accelerated BSN Class June Snow Award Winners (L-R) Kymber Beers and Megan Sleep.

August 21, 2012

On August 10, 2012 the Department of Nursing at Bradley University held a recognition ceremony for graduating accelerated BSN students.  This year two graduates received the June Snow Award recognizing their commitment to academic excellence. 

Recipients this year were Kymber Beers and Megan Sleep.

The June Snow Award is presented by the Epsilon Epsilon Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau and was established in 1979 to recognize scholastic achievement of the highest ranking graduating senior nursing major and to honor June Snow, founding chairperson of the Department of Nursing at Bradley University.  In 2011 the award was expanded to include Accelerated BSN students who graduate in August each year.  June Snow taught nursing courses at Bradley University from 1948 to 1977.  Miss Snow first taught RNs returning for their degree.  Then she was instrumental in establishing the generic baccalaureate program which began in 1970.

Sigma Theta Tau International is the honor society of nursing, founded in 1922 at Indiana University.  There are now over 450 chapters in colleges and universities in the United States and other countries.  Epsilon Epsilon Chapter was chartered on May 4, 1980 at Bradley University as chapter number 123.  The purposes of Sigma Theta Tau are to recognize superior achievement and leadership qualities, to foster high professional standards, encourage creative work and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession.

Congratulations to Kymber and Megan.

For more photos from the recognition ceremony please go to www.facebook.com/bunursing