Apple/Mac Unit Plan Awards

May 2, 2011

With the leadership of Dr. Nina Collins, retired chair of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, teacher education majors were invited to compete in spring 2011 for a Mac Pro laptop by writing a unit plan following the instruction of FCS students about budgeting and financial organization. The award was given to Samantha Lynn ’12. Her unit impressed the judges for its application of backward design, a mentocurricular model created by scholars Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe, based upon key parts of other models that have been used in American schools.