Receiving Fulbright and Golden Apple Awards

Golden Apple award winners celebrate with Dr. Jana Hunzicker. [L-R] Dawnesha Freeman, Julia Bruynseels, Michelle Issen, Nichole Carey, Dr. Jana Hunzicker, Molly Moriarity

March 13, 2013

Fulbright Awards

Two Teacher Education alumnae, Anna Treesara ’13 and Julie Mohedano ’13, received Fulbright English Teaching Assistantships in 2013. Anna, a secondary English teacher, began her assistantship in October in Thailand; Julie, a teacher of French and Spanish, started in Brazil this semester. They were each guided towards the Fulbright by their professor of English, Dr. Tim Connolly.

Teacher Education Associate Professor, Dr. Cecile Arquette, began her Fulbright in March at the Pontifical Catholic University of Valparaiso in Chile. Dr. Arquette’s areas of expertise include literacy and English as a Second Language. She has been responsible for the initiation and development of undergraduate courses in ELL that are now incorporated in a new option for Bradley students who want to be endorsed in ELL teaching. In Chile, Dr. Arquette will teach courses to those at the Pontifical Catholic University who want to teach English.  See the following link for the full story.

In 1946, President Truman signed the Fulbright Act into law. This act originated as a bill introduced to the U.S. Congress by Senator J. William Fulbright. He proposed that the proceeds from the sale of extra war properties be used to fund the “promotion of international good will through the exchange of students in the fields of education, culture and science.”  Presently, the Fulbright is recognized throughout the world as a most prestigious program that enables individuals with specific expertise to participate in societies and countries other than their own as learners and leaders.

See more at:

Golden Apple Awards

Each year, Golden Apple Scholarships are offered to high school seniors and college freshmen and sophomores interested in teaching in high need Illinois schools. This program has been coordinated at Bradley by Dr. Jana Hunzicker for five years. Current award winners at Bradley are:  Dawnesha Freeman, Julia Bruvnseels, Michelle Issen, Nicole Carey, Molly Moriarity, Brianne Machak, Nichelle Hibbler, and Raven Williams. Visit for more information.