Students Ready for Olympic Internships

January 3, 2014

Sixteen Bradley University students have secured internships with NBC for the XXII Olympic Winter Games that will take place in Sochi, Russia in February 2014.  This is the second time Bradley students have been selected by NBC to intern at the Olympic Games. Ten students earned internships with NBC for the 2012 Summer Games in London.

“Once again our students have demonstrated that they are among the best - the elite - in the nation,” said Dr. Paul Gullifor, chair of the Department of Communication.  “We are grateful for our partnership with NBC that provides students an extraordinary opportunity to gain practical experience at a premiere worldwide sporting event.”

Interns will have responsibilities ranging from front-line tasks in Sochi to behind-the-scenes production jobs in Stamford, Connecticut.  Their internships will last from three to five weeks. 

A series of on-campus interviews were conducted in March before selecting the Bradley students, who were in competition with students from Syracuse University and Ithaca College.  "We are pleased that the excellence of Bradley students continues to be recognized by NBC as demonstrated by their selection of our exceptional students as part of their 2014 Olympic intern team," said President Joanne Glasser. "Experiential learning is integral to a Bradley education and enhances and enriches classroom learning."

Students will be departing for their internships between the end of January and early February.  The students chosen for the internships are:

Going to Sochi:
Jake Hermann, Bartonville, Illinois, senior
Brianna Karls, Minnetonka, Minnesota, junior
Lee Pikelny, Chicago, Illinois, senior
Jonathan Teich, Bay City, Michigan, senior
Frank Van Almsick, St. Louis, Missouri, senior
Anna Wilks, Indianapolis, Indiana, junior

Going to Stamford, CT:
Tyler Dalsin, Eden Prairie, Minnesota, junior
Miles Himmel, San Diego, California, senior
Tim Lahey, Frankfort, Illinois, senior
Jesse Marczewski, Muskego, Wisconsin, senior
Dominique Moore, Ottawa, Illinois, junior
Christopher Morgan, East St. Louis, Illinois, senior
Kelly O'Brien, Rolling Meadows, Illinois, junior
Laura O'Radnik, Orland Park, Illinois, senior
Spence Siegel, Wilmette, Illinois, junior
Tim van Straten, Chino Hills, California, junior