How to Lock or Erase Your iDevice Remotely

Setting up your device

Apple® has made protecting your data and personal information, by including the features built into the operating system. With just a few simple steps you can have the peace of mind that your data and personal information are protected in case it's lost or stolen.

Step 1

Go to SETTINGS on the device and tap on the PRIVACY option.

iDevice Privacy Settings

Step 2

Tap LOCATION SERVICES to turn it on.

iDevice Location Services Setting

Step 3

Next go back one screen to SETTINGS and tap the iCLOUD setting.

iCloud Setting

Step 4

Enter your iTunes account email or create one in the ACCOUNT field.

iCloud Account

Step 5

Scroll down to the FIND MY IPHONE/IPAD option and turn it ON

Find My iPhone Setting

Step 6 What to do if you have had your iDevice lost or stollen.

All you have to do is log on to https://www.icloud.com/ from any browser with the Apple ID and password that you used to set up FIND MY IPHONE/IPAD.

iCloud Login

Step 7

Once you have signed in, just click on the FIND MY IPHONE icon.

Find My iPhone

Step 8

After clicking the FIND MY IPHONE button, the website will open another web page with Google maps on it. Click on the DEVICES button in the upper left hand corner of the web site.

iCloud Devices Button

Step 9

Once you have clicked the DEVICES button, a list of your devices will drop down. Select your iDevice that you want to find, lock or erase.

My Devices

Step 10

A menu will open on the right hand side of the web site with the name of your iDevice that you selected in the previous step. The first option that if gives you is to PLAY SOUND. This will make the device play a loud sound so that you can locate it if you have lost it nearby.

The second option is to put the device into a LOST MODE which will lock the phone, display a message on the device that it is lost and a contact phone number incase someone finds it.

The third option that you have is to ERASE IPHONE/IPAD. This will erase ALL data and personal information stored on the device itself.

Wipe My Device