June Snow Award - August 2013

Accelerated BSN June Snow Award Recipient Katherine Sarsfield (L) with Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. David Glassman (R).

August 16, 2013

The Department of Nursing at Bradley University held a recognition ceremony for graduating accelerated BSN students on August 16, 2013.  Katherine Sarsfield received the June Snow Award recognizing her commitment to academic excellence. The award was presented to Katherine by Dr. David Glassman, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs at Bradley University on behalf of the Epsilon Epsilon Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau.

The June Snow Award is presented by the Epsilon Epsilon Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau and was established in 1979 to recognize scholastic achievement of the highest ranking graduating senior nursing major and to honor June Snow, founding chairperson of the Department of Nursing at Bradley University.  In 2011 the award was expanded to include Accelerated BSN students who graduate in August each year.  June Snow taught nursing courses at Bradley University from 1948 to 1977.  Miss Snow first taught RNs returning for their degree.  Then she was instrumental in establishing the generic baccalaureate program which began in 1970.

Sigma Theta Tau International is the honor society of nursing, founded in 1922 at Indiana University.  There are now over 450 chapters in colleges and universities in the United States and other countries.  Epsilon Epsilon Chapter was chartered on May 4, 1980 at Bradley University as chapter number 123.  The purposes of Sigma Theta Tau are to recognize superior achievement and leadership qualities, to foster high professional standards, encourage creative work and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession.

Congratulations to Katherine on this outstanding achievement.

For more photos from the recognition ceremony please go to www.facebook.com/bunursing