Accounting banquet honors students’ academic achievement

May 1, 2012

By Frank Radosevich II

The Department of Accounting hosted its annual honors banquet last week where it recognized current and graduating students for their academic achievements throughout the year.

The event featured guest speaker Steve Levin of the Chicago accounting and advisory firm Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP, who spoke about how to launch a successful career in accounting.

During the evening, Emily Carpenter was awarded the Arthur G. Mehl Scholarship, which is presented to an accounting major entering a fifth year of study. Kara Dather was given the Harold M. Nix Scholarship, which recognizes outstanding academic performance. Ann Hofmann received the Arthur J. Wardelman Scholarship, which is presented to a sophomore accounting major who will be continuing in either the four year or 3:2 program. Breanne Whaley was awarded the Heinold-Banwart, Ltd. Scholarship, which is presented to a senior pursuing a master’s degree in accounting.

Other students honored were Drew Giles, with the John M. Ruble Outstanding Accounting Senior award; Bradley Krafft and Ashley Shepherd, with the John M. Ruble Outstanding Accounting Students award; Zach Albert and Alicia Nottke, with the Baker Tilly Virchow Krause Accounting awards; Joanna Fay, with the Heinold-Banwart, Ltd. award; Seth Elsasser, Jonathan Goff and Emily Ioerger, with the Department of Accounting Academic Excellence awards; Amy Stramich, with the Institute of Management Accountants award; Robert Smith and Lindsey Vaught, with the FCBA Outstanding MSA Student awards; W. Micah Thurn, with the Federation of Schools of Accountancy award.

The following students were induced into Beta Alpha Psi, the national honors business organization for accounting: Brian Andrejasich, Joseph Bedford, Danielle Daluga, Kara Dather, Drew Giles, Bradley Krafft, Ting Lin, Alicia Nottke, Kim Pouilly, Ashley Shepherd, Lindsay Spencer and Amy Stramich.