Robison Lecture

Mary Leslie Robison

The Robison Endowed Lectureship is designed to provide Bradley University with access to distinguished working news professionals and educators. These professionals will present a more vivid view of print and broadcast news through their experiences and contributions to the field. In order to benefit the students and community, the income from the Robison Endowment Lectureship will provide funding for the following purposes:

  • Series of Master Classes
  • Classroom Lectures
  • Seminars
  • Community presentations
  • Workshops for professionals

The presenters for these varied programs will be selected from news professionals and educators nationally known. The participants will be women and men who have achieved success in the journalism field. The lectureship was endowed by and named in memory of Miss Mary Leslie Robison, Assistant Professor of English at Bradley University from 1957-1969.

Department of Communication Robison Memorial Lectureship in Communication
Endowed 1985

March 1988 - Dr. Ed Bassett, Dean

Medill School (of Journalism) Northwestern University

March 1988 - Dick Stolley, Director

Special Projects - Time, Inc.

November 1989 - Glenna S. McWhirter

Columnist - The Detroit News

November 1989 - George Vecsey

Sports Columnist, The New York Times

November 1990 - Marvin Zivitz

Page One Editor, Montreal Gazette

April 1992 - Dwight L. Morris

Editor for Special Investigations, Los Angeles Times

March 1993 - Joseph Boyce

Senior Editor, The Wall Street Journal

April 1993 - Brian P. Lamb

Chairman and CEO, C-SPAN

April 1994 - Robert H. Giles

Editor and Publisher, The Detroit News

March 1995 - Cheryl Corley

News Director, WBEZ-FM, Chicago

Fall 1995 - Dr. Alexis Tan

Professor and Director, Edward R. Murrow School of Communication

Spring 1996 - Ralph M. Wenge

Executive Producer, The World Report CNN

Spring 1997 - Dr. Robert L. Stevenson

Kenan Professor of Journalism, University of N. Carolina - Chapel Hill

September 1997 - Wayne A. Danielson

DeWitt Carter Reddick Regent's Centennial Chair in Communication University of Texas at Austin

October 1997 - Jim Ottaway, Jr.

Senior Vice President, Dow Jones & Co.
Chairman, Ottaway Newspapers, Inc.
Chairman, World Press Freedom Committee

April 1998 - Pat Stith

Raleigh News & Observer, Raleigh, North Carolina

April 2000 - Clarence Page

Columnist and Editorial Board Member Chicago Tribune
1989 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Fall 2000 - Steve Jones, Ph.D.

Senior Research Fellow for the Pew Internet and American Life Project and Co-founder of the Association of Internet Researchers
University of Illinois - Chicago

Spring 2001 - Tony Brown

Author; Producer, host, and commentator for the PBS series, Tony Brown's Journal
Tony Brown Productions, Inc.

Fall 2001 - Ray Suarez

Author and Washington-based senior correspondent/backup anchor for The NewsHour on PBS

Spring 2002 - Molly Ivins

Author and Nationally syndicated columnist and political commentator

Fall 2002 - Roger K. Newman

Author and Research Scholar New York University School of Law

Spring 2003 - Jeffrey Dvorkin

Ombudsman and former Vice President for News & Information
National Public Radio

Fall 2003 - Jacqui Banaszynski

Associate Managing Editor, The Seattle Times
1988 Pulitzer Prize winner in feature writing

Spring 2004 - Mark N. Trahant

Editorial Page Editor, The Seattle Post - Intelligence Reporter

Fall 2004 - Jacki Lyden

Senior Correspondent, National Public Radio

Spring 2005 - Allan Sloan

Wall Street Editor, Newsweek magazine

Fall 2005 - Don Gonyea

White House Correspondent, National Public Radio

Spring 2006 - Jonathan Alter

Senior Editor, Newsweek and NBC News contributing correspondent

Fall 2006 - Ken Auletta

Journalist and Media Critic

Fall 2007 - Melissa Block

Host, All Things Considered, National Public Radio

Spring 2008 - Frank Deford

Author and Sports Journalist

Fall 2008 - Gideon Yago

News correspondent and producer for MTV News

Fall 2009 - Dr. Todd Gitlin

Professor of Journalism and Sociology Chair, Ph.D. Program in Communications at Columbia University

Spring 2010 - Leonard Pitts

Miami Herald columnist and 2004 Pulitzer Prize winner

Fall 2010 - Anne Garrels

Senior Foreign Correspondent for National Public Radio

Spring 2011 - Dave Kindred

Author and former sports columnist for the Washington Post

Fall 2011 - Ken Paulson

President and Chief Executive Officer of The First Amendment Center

Spring 2012 - Taylor Branch

Pulitzer Prize-winning author and historian

Fall 2012 - Joe Klein

Columnist and Author

Spring 2014 - Renée C. Byer and Paul Kitagaki

Byer is a Pulitzer Prize-winning documentary photojournalist
Kitagaki is a senior photographer at The Sacramento Bee

Spring 2015 - Carl Bernstein

Investigative Reporter and Author

Spring 2016 - Lev Grossman

Journalist and Author

Fall 2016 - Jessica Yellin

Political Journalist and former CNN White House correspondent

Fall 2017 - Masha Gessen

Russian and American Journalist