Associate Dean B.J. Lawrence Receives Major Award

July 1, 2010

The Illinois Speech and Theatre Association awarded B. J. Lawrence the W. P. Sandford Award during the September 25-26, 2009 state convention.   The Sandford Award is the highest award presented by ISTA.   It is noted as the Presidential Award that recognizes members who have given exceptional service to the Association over an extended period of years and have made a significant contribution to the field of speech.

W. P. Sandford served as President of ISTA in 1930 and 1931.   He was a Professor of English and Rhetoric at the University of Illinois at Champaign/Urbana.   He published numerous scholarly articles in the field of speech including in the Quarterly Journal of Speech.

B. J. Lawrence has been an active member of ISTA for over 15 years.   She chaired the 75th Anniversary convention in 2005 and was President of the organization in 2007.