Gullifor Named Henry Means Pindell Chair

July 1, 2010

The Slane College of Communications and Fine Arts is proud to announce the appointment of Dr. Paul Gullifor as the first Henry Means Pindell Endowed Chair in Communication. Established by the family of Henry Slane, for whom the Slane College is named, the Pindell Endowed Chair recognizes and supports an accomplished professor and outstanding teacher in the Department of Communication who is recognized nationally as an authority in communications and communication history with expertise, teaching experience, and published scholarship in the history and substance of broadcasting, sports communication, and mass communication.

Dr. Gullifor earned a B.A. in Broadcasting (1981) and an M.S. in Broadcast Management and Programming (1982) from Indiana State University. He earned a Ph.D. in Communication from the University of Missouri in 1988.He joined the faculty at Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois in the fall of 1988.  Having recently completed his 21st academic year at Bradley, Dr. Gullifor is currently a tenured professor and chairperson of the Department of Communication, and also teaches a variety of courses in electronic media.  He is an award-winning teacher whose honors include the Department of Communication's Paul B. Snider Award for Teaching Excellence, the Slane College's Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching Excellence and the Stephen H. Coltrin National Professor of the Year presented by the International Radio and Television Society in New York.  Dr. Gullifor is also a two-time winner of the Teaching Excellence Award from the Bradley University Parents Association.  His research interests are in broadcast history and programming, particularly sports programming, and he has published in these areas.  His first book The Fighting Irish on the Air:  The History of Notre Dame Football Broadcasting, published by Diamond Communications was released in September 2001.  His second book, Courting Success, with Notre Dame Women's Basketball Coach Muffet McGraw, was released in November 2003.  The department congratulates Dr. Gullifor on this honor!