Student Awards

English Department Awards include:

  1. Outstanding English Senior - Awarded each spring at LAS Honors Day Program to English senior selected by English faculty for outstanding scholarship and contribution to the department and discipline.
  2. Olive B. White Award - Awarded each spring to outstanding creative writing student selected by the creative writing faculty.
  3. Outstanding Senior in Literary Studies - English Department faculty choose a graduating senior (either December or May) with the strongest record of accomplishment in literary courses. Criteria include an excellent grade point average, strong letter of support from a faculty member, and a demonstration of superior skills in critical reading and literary discourse.
  4. Outstanding Senior in English Education - The English Department faculty choose the most outstanding December or May graduate in English Education. Faculty consider all English-Teaching majors who have completed their student teaching either prior to or during the Spring Semester. Criteria include an excellent record in both English and Teacher Education courses and a strong letter of support from faculty in the Department of Teacher Education.
  5. Senior Scholar - This award is made to a current junior. The criteria for selection: 1) student must be enrolled full time, 2) student must be majoring in English. Selection is based on faculty recommendation (50 points), campus and community activities (25 points) and overall GPA and GPA in English (25 points).
  6. The Ballowe Scholarship in Creative Writing - Awarded in recognition of a writer's attention to the subtleties of language, development of an individual voice, and ability to engage the reader. After receiving his doctorate from the University of Illinois, James Ballowe served thirty-six years as professor and administrator at Bradley University. He retired in 1999 as Distinguished Professor of English Emeritus. His most recent books are A Man of Salt and Trees (Northern Illinois University Press, 2009), a biography of Joy Morton, the founder of Morton Salt and of The Morton Arboretum, and the anthology Christmas in Illinois (University of Illinois Press, 2010), containing stories and images that reflect the cultural diversity of the State. He also edited the poetry for Creatures in the City, a natural history anthology. He serves as a founding editor ofFifth Wednesday Journal and conducts interviews with its featured poets.  For more information about James Ballowe, Distinguished Professor of English Emeritus, please click HERE.

2014-2015 Award Winners

  • Outstanding Senior in English - Margaret Cipriano
  • Olive B. White Award - Margaret Cipriano
  • Outstanding Senior in Literary Studies - Elizabeth Cachey & Danielle Fitch
  • Outstanding Senior in English Education - Mollie O'Brien
  • Senior Scholar (current junior) - Zachary Singleton
  • The Ballowe Scholarship in Creative Writing - Tessa Armich
  • The Liberal Arts and Sciences Scholarship - Jay Mehta

Department Award Winners

American Winners

Sipple Winners

To view previous winners, click HERE.