1996-2000 Academy of American Poets Prize Winners

Some poems may contain explicit language.


  • Winner: Lindsay King - "Lotus"
  • Honorable Mention: Matt Buedel, Sara Crow, Geoffrey Frost, Anna Gregoline, Scott James, Amy Rogers and Stacey Wrona


  • Winner: Byron DeHaan - "Requiem for Mozart and Us"
  • Honorable Mention: Sara Crow, Lindsay King, Mark Monastyrski and Elizabeth Phillips



  • Winner: Tamara Witt - "Orwell's Wasp"
  • Honorable Mention - Alahrie Aziz, Elizabeth Alexander, Jennifer Cooper, Scott James, Elizabeth Otto and Forrest Wing


  • Co-Winner: Stephanie Buffman - "Displacement"
  • Co-Winner: Yosha Bourgea - "Strike Anywhere"
  • Honorable Mention: Devin Allen - "For Sara," Andrew Rafacz - "Rag Tag and Heals," Michael Squires - "Cut Along Dotted Lines," Michael Van Vleet - "A Flash of White," and Tamara Witt - "Shatter Tree"