Message from the Chair

Welcome to the website of the Mechanical Engineering Department at Bradley University. We hope you will consider what Bradley can offer to you.

Bradley University offers B.S. and M.S. degrees in Mechanical Engineering. We have an option in Energy, providing an array of courses from nuclear energy to solar energy to building energy management. We also have an option in Biomedical Engineering, which is an excellent starting point for those looking to go into medical school or graduate research.

We strive to keep class sizes small and provide students with collaborative learning experiences with faculty. Our faculty members’ main responsibility is teaching undergraduate students. They also consult with industry and government labs on cutting-edge research projects and our students get involved in these projects through undergraduate research, senior design projects, and graduate research.

The Mechanical Engineering department at Bradley is a top-ranked department. The department supports several student organizations including ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers), SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers), SWE (Society of Women Engineers), and ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Engineers). Our SAE students participate in the national Mini Baja and Formula Car competitions.

Bradley has the advantages of a small campus located in an urban city. The Peoria metro area includes nearly 350,000 residents and is the cultural, medical and retail center for downstate Illinois. Peoria has many of the amenities you find in large cities, including a symphony orchestra, professional theatre companies, a ballet troupe and a civic center, where national acts perform nearly every week. Peoria is home to many companies that hire mechanical engineering graduates, including Caterpillar. If you have any questions, please feel free to peruse these webpages and to contact Bradley University for further information or to arrange a visit.


Paul Mehta, PhD
Professor and Chairperson