Marcia Henry Liebenow to Solo With Peoria Symphony Orchestra

July 1, 2010

Saturday, November 07, 2009 - 8:00 PM

Peoria Civic Center Theater

Franz Liszt - Mephisto Waltz No. 1 

Aaron Jay Kernis - Air for Violin and Orchestra

Charles Villiers Stanford - Irish Rhapsody No. 6

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74

Themes of passion stream through this program, as Morihiko Nakahara first conducts Liszt's sensuous Mephisto Waltz. Next, Concertmaster Marcia Henry Liebenow solos in Kernis' lovely Air, which he dedicated to his wife, and then in Stanford's Irish Rhapsody, which attests to the love he held for his homeland. Finally, we hear Tchaikovsky's final symphony, known by the very name that means passion: "Pathetique.


Marcia Henry Liebenow is Concertmaster of the Peoria Symphony Orchestra. Active as a soloist, recitalist and chamber musician, her performances have been broadcast in Europe and across the United States and she has appeared as soloist with orchestras in Russia, Germany and Italy. Liebenow teaches violin, viola and chamber music at Bradley University.