Psychology honors student award winners

The 2012-2013 Psychology Department student award winners from left to right: Tiffany Williams, Keith Mason, Kimberly O’Leary, Klaudia Pajor, Austin Simpson and Abigail Riemer.

April 8, 2013

The Bradley Psychology Department is proud to announce its 2012-2013 student award winners.

“So many psychology students at Bradley have stellar academic achievements; it is always difficult to narrow the list,” said Dr. Derek Montgomery, chairperson of the psychology department. “Our awardees have distinguished themselves through the breadth of their academic successes both inside and outside the classroom.”

Klaudia Pajor, Abigail Riemer, and Austin Simpson received this year’s Carl Smith Award. The award honors academic achievement, intellectual curiosity, intellectual honesty and contribution to Bradley University. Each student received a monetary award and their names will be engraved on a plaque displayed in the department. Psychology majors who are graduating seniors and continuing their education at an institution of higher learning are eligible. Psychology faculty nominate students for the award.

Keith Mason and Tiffany Williams received the Community Practicum Award from the department. The Community Practicum Award is presented annually to a PSY 342 student who has demonstrated the highest levels of psychological skill, engagement, and professional demeanor during his or her placement.

Kimberly O’Leary was honored by the department as its outstanding senior. The award is presented annually to the graduating psychology major who excels in academics and leadership. "My research opportunities and relationships formed within the department built the foundation for my future values in academia," said O'Leary. "I can confidently move on to graduate school equipped with the tools I have gained during my four years at Bradley."