Illinois Council for the Social Studies Annual Council Awards Program

The ICSS Board of Directors is pleased to announce the following awards to recognize distinguished contributions to social studies education:

ICSS Distinguished Service Award

 – This award recognizes individuals or programs having made significant contributions to the field of social studies education for outstanding teaching, excellence in scholarship, and significant support of social studies education. Awards are also given to a political servant for his or her strong support of social studies education.

ICSS Distinguished Teaching in Social Studies

 – This award recognizes distinguished classroom teachers at the K-5, middle, high school, and collegiate levels.

ICSS Citizen’s Award

 – This award recognizes individuals or groups for their service in promoting social studies and their long-term efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the social studies and ICSS.

ICSS Outstanding Student Teacher Award

 – This award recognizes those student teachers demonstrating excellence in social studies education at the K-5, middle, and high school levels.

After selecting the award category for the individual(s) or group you are nominating, please write a short paragraph of why you think this person(s) or group deserve(s) the award. Please return to Don Jolly, 327 Lockwood Place, Jacksonville, IL 62650. Also, please provide nominee’s contact information.

 ICSS Awards Nomination Form





honoring middle and high school teachers can be made now at

State winners each receive: $1,000; National winner receives: $10,000; All winners receive an archive of materials for their school library, donated in their honor. Do you know an outstanding teacher passionate about American history? 

All full-time educators who teach American history are eligible.

To Nominate:
• Submit the name and email of an outstanding teacher at
• Nominations of K–12 teachers accepted throughout the year
• Nominations can be made by a student, parent, colleague, principal or school administrator familiar with the teacher's work.

The Nomination Deadline for the 2012 award is February 1, 2012.To nominate a teacher and learn more about the award, visit: National History Teacher of the Year Award The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute, Preserve America, and HISTORY®.  

One winner will be chosen from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, US Territories, and Department of Defense schools. 

These winners will be considered for the national award. Contact the National History Teacher of the Year coordinator at or via phone at 646-366-9666 x28.