Quality Matters

Bradley University is a member of the Quality Matters (QM) community, which provides nationally recognized standards of best practices for online and blended learning. QM is used by over 900 institutions of higher education across the United States

Quality Matters

QM is designed as a means to provide:

  • Improved student learning outcomes and retention
  • Ongoing faculty development
  • A process for systematic, comprehensive quality assurance
  • Support for institutional assessment
  • Incorporation of new research findings for online learning

Quality Matters consists of research-based, faculty-driven standards comprised in a concise rubric that is continually updated. QM also consists of professional development and formal and informal peer-review and self-review processes.

QM Rubric

The QM Rubric forms the basis for the course design program and is comprised of eight categories called General Standards:

  1. Course Overview and Introduction
  2. Learning Objectives (Competencies)
  3. Assessment and Measurement
  4. Instructional Materials
  5. Course Activities and Learner Interaction
  6. Course Technology
  7. Learner Support
  8. Accessibility and Usability