Derek Montgomery

Derek Montgomery

Associate Dean of Engaged Learning

    Bradley Hall 233
    (309) 677-2590


Ph.D., Developmental Psychology, University of Florida
B.A., Psychology, The Ohio State University


Dr. Derek Montgomery received his Ph.D. from the University of Florida.  His doctoral dissertation at Florida earned the APA Division 7 Dissertation Award.  He has been at Bradley since 1993.

Dr. Montgomery’s research involves understanding how preschool and kindergarten children learn to self-regulate their behavior. He also investigates how language shapes children’s understanding of the mind. His research is published in many of the top journals in Developmental Psychology. He is a previous recipient of the Caterpillar Inc. New Faculty Achievement Award for Scholarship at Bradley University and has received research funding from the National Institute of Mental Health.

Courses taught by Dr. Montgomery include Child Study Practicum, Developmental Psychology, Experimental Psychology, and Cognitive Development. He periodically teaches honors seminars—his most recent seminar is the Psychology of Happiness. Dr. Montgomery recently co-authored a text with M. Jeffrey Farrar, Cognitive Development of Children: Research and Application.

As Associate Dean of Engaged Learning, Dr. Montgomery assists the Dean and faculty in providing leadership for the development, implementation and oversight of programs that enhance students’ engagement in educationally productive activities that occur, typically, outside of the classroom (e.g., undergraduate research and creative production, collaborative learning with peers, student-faculty collaborative activities, externships, and service learning).Dr. Montgomery also has administrative responsibility for curricular interdisciplinary programs, the LAS First-Year Seminar Program, the Global Living and Learning Community, summer programming, and summer orientation programs. Dr. Montgomery was chair of the psychology department from 2010-2015. The department earned the Culture of Service in the Psychological Sciences award from the American Psychological Association during his tenure as chair.