Lawrence Lecture

The Lawrence Lectureship was established in 1989 by the University to honor Major Robert Lawrence. Although this lectureship was funded on an annual basis by the Office of the Provost, Barbara Lawrence, Major Lawrence’s sister, has endowed the fund. A goal of the department and the University is to secure additional funding to grow the fund to help bring to campus individuals of national prominence.

The Lawrence Lectureship brings to the Bradley campus visiting scholars who have a special affinity for members of minority groups and can serve as educational role models for all students. Typically, nominees are African-Americans who exhibit noteworthy personal qualities and have demonstrated professional success. In addition, the lecturers often stay on campus for several days in order to interact with students and the community.

Previous Lecturers in the Series

Dr. John L. Mason

President, Monsanto Fund

Dr. Linneaus Dorman*

Dow Chemical Company

Dr. Steven L. Richardson

Howard University

Dr. Walter J. Atkins

Hughes Corporation

Dr. Burnett Joiner*

President, LeMoyne-Owens College

Dr. Benjamin H. Alexander*i

Drew-Dawn Enterprises

Mr. Douglas Alligood*

Senior Vice President, BBDO

Dr. William R. Wiley

Vice President, Battelle Memorial Institute

Dr. James P. Shoffner

Universal Oil Products

Dr. Barbara E. Lawrence

Baruch College

Honorable Gay-Lloyd Lott

Circuit Court Judge, Cook County/p>

Dr. Charlene M. Dewey*

Baylor College of Medicine

C. Borsellino*


Dr. Junius P. Rodriguez

Eureka College

Marvin E. Gunn, Jr

Department of Energy, Chicago Operations Office

*Bradley Graduates