Higher Learning Commission Accreditation

The most recent accreditation visit from the Higher Learning Commission took place April 19-20, 2021. The University Community worked hard for over two years to develop the Assurance Argument. The Assurance Argument was submitted to The Higher Learning Commission on March 22, 2021, and it is available here for your review.

In July 2021, we received the official action letter and final team report from the Higher Learning Commission. The team report is available here for your review. The action letter indicates Bradley's next reaffirmation of accreditation will occur in 2030-2031. Bradley will remain on the Open Pathway with an update to the Assurance Argument due in 2024-2025 and a Quality Initiative to be designed and implemented between 2025-2030. Bradley has been accredited since 1913.

What is the Higher Learning Commission?

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an institutional accreditation agency that accredits degree-granting colleges and universities in the United States. HLC accredits the entire University, as opposed to individual programs. More information is available at: https://www.hlcommission.org/.

Why is Accreditation Important?

Institutional accreditors are responsible for assuring and advancing the quality of higher education. They serve as gatekeepers for the federal government and access to federal financial aid. Institutional accreditation also impacts the transferability of credits, with institutions accepting transfer credits from other accredited institutions.

What are the Criteria for Accreditation?

All accredited schools are assessed on five criteria, which are:

  1. Mission
  2. Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct
  3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
  4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
  5. Institutional Effectiveness, Resources and Planning