Stop the Presses!

The Scout and its staff won 12 awards at this year’s Illinois College Press Association (ICPA), including three in the open category, where competition included 26 other schools in the state. Two of those open awards were for special supplements — honorable mentions for Entertainment Supplements (the 2019 Halloween issue and the basketball postseason special edition). 

The other open award was a third place for graphic illustration to Erin Martiens ’20

“It takes a village to produce a paper every week,” said editor in chief Tony Xu ’20

“By the end of the day, the overall quality of the publication is the best testimony of everyone’s hard work that they put in every week.”

In its division (non-daily paper, over 4,000 enrollment), the Scout competed against 11 schools and took home nine awards. These included firsts for sports page design, Logan Pfalzgraf ’20; and sports feature, Justin Limoges ’20; second for sports page design, Carson Allen ’23; and non-sports column, Meghan Anderson ’19; third for sports game story, Anthony Landahl ’21, Ronan Khalsa ’20 and Limoges; and feature story, Landahl and Angeline Schmelzer ’22; and three honorable mentions (sports column, Larry Larson ’22; non-sports column, Jade Sewell ’22; and news story, Haley Johnson ’21). 

“The work our student-journalists at The Scout did this past year was exemplary and helped tell some really great stories about our campus — and the people we see every day on the Hilltop,” said Chris Kaergard ’04, newspaper adviser and president of the ICPA, who also praised the paper’s ‘compelling’ design. “But I’m also proud of the work the staff has done to expand their work online these past two years.”

Share this story