Prestigious Awards Presented to Faculty and Staff

October 4, 2019

At the annual Founder's Day Convocation, faculty and staff were recognized for their dedication to the university with some prestigious awards. President Gary Roberts said "We are extremely lucky to have such talented and dedicated faculty and staff who put their hearts and souls into making a difference with our students. These people help make Bradley the institution that it is today and they deserve this recognition for all they do day in and day out."

Caterpillar Faculty Achievement Awards for Teaching and Scholarship nominees must hold a full-time, tenure-track faculty appointment, but they must not yet have attained tenure status.

Caterpillar Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching - Dr. Rachel Vollmer, Assistant Professor of Family and Consumer Sciences.

Caterpillar Faculty Achievement Award for Scholarship - Dr. Dunja Antunovic, Assistant Professor of Communication.

The Samuel Rothberg Professional Excellence Award recognizes outstanding achievements in research and creativity by a senior faculty member. Recipients are expected to make original contributions to their field and submit these contributions for critical appraisal by their professional peers.

Samuel Rothberg Professional Excellence Award - Dr. Tanya Marcum, Department of Entrepreneurship, Technology and Law.

The recognition of excellence in teaching became a tradition at Bradley in 1957 when Charles M. Putnam established the Putnam Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Putnam Award for Excellence in Teaching - Dr. Kristi McQuade, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Dr. Francis C. Mergen, chair of the Department of Industrial Engineering until his untimely death in 1972, shared Lydia Moss Bradley’s value of public service. The Central Illinois Bradley Alumni Chapter established the Francis C. Mergen Award for Public Service in 1973 in Dr. Mergen's honor. Each year, one person from Bradley’s faculty or staff receives this award to recognize the significance of their contribution to the world around them.

Francis C. Mergen Award - Heather McCord - Associate Dean for Budget and Administration for the Foster College of Business.

Some media in Bradley University's current print, video and online materials was acquired before the COVID-19 pandemic. Media acquired after the pandemic began was done so in compliance with Bradley's COVID-19 safety protocols at the time. The ongoing safety of our faculty, staff and students is of the utmost concern during these unprecedented times.